Archive ID: 2018-074-071

East Side and Calumet River

Date Created: undated

Created By: S.H. Knox & Co.

Donor: Raymond Mulac

Media Type: Postcard

Language: English


Calumet River view south toward 95th Street. Left side of the river is the East Side neighborhood and the right side is the South Chicago neighborhood. The first bridge at the right is the 95th Street Bridge for street traffic which was built in 1903 and was one of the first trunnion bascule bridges in Chicago. The industrial facility to the left of the bridge was the Iroquois Iron Company which opened in 1890 and would later (c1912) move to the mouth of the Calumet River at Lake Michigan. The plant produced pig iron. Further south, crossing the river are several railroad swing bridges and just beyond those bridges a grain elevator. The railroad bridges were built for the first railroads that came in the 1850s. There were three railroads swing bridges that crossed the Calumet River at that location until they were replaced in the 1910s.

Rights Policy:

Materials posted on this site have been donated to the Southeast Chicago Historical Society and Museum for public use. If there are any questions or concerns about materials posted, please contact us. Some of the materials on this site are protected under Creative Commons licensing. For information on use and reproduction, please see the following Rights Policy.


Contact us with any inquiries.


Buildings/Landmarks   Environment   Lakes/Rivers/Wetlands   Other   1900-1919 (WWI Era)   East Side   South Chicago   Other/Unknown   Postcard   2018-074   Bridges   Buildings   Calumet River   Grain elevators   Iroquois  

This item appears in:

Mexican-American Journeys

A story told through Museum objects saved by Southeast Chicago residents

Experience the Storyline